Romance in wet shoes

image

Rain, lovely rain…

It’s raining. I’m sitting on my sofa with a cup of tea in my hands and staring out of the window. I almost can’t see what’s behind it. Rain drops are trickling down the glass turning the city into a mess of water and lights. Down there, in the wet nasty street, someone is getting soaked, caught in the downpour, and swearing out loud trying to catch a taxi. But that doesn’t concern me. I’m warm and cozy in my quilted cocoon. That’s the kind of rainy romance I like.

But sometimes a crazy romantic wakes up inside me. I put on my rubber shoes, take an umbrella and go roaming down an empty street under streams of water. City lights beckon me through the mist, reflecting in the puddles, and I feel like in a dream. That’s exactly the feeling I get from the picture here. This painting on canvas is made by Leonid Afremov, a modern Impressionist who specializes in that kind of rainy sceneries. As a future interior designer, I always look out for nice pieces of art for my future projects. And I can definitely say I’m gonna recommend Mr. Afremov to my customers!

Let’s look at this picture a bit closer:

  • The lamp posts are glowing bright like little suns, but their warmth is swallowed by the chilly blue mist at the end of the alley. What a lovely contrast!
  • The weather is rainy and misty, and the outlines of benches and trees get blurred as our eye moves deeper into the alley. But we can clearly see colorful reflections on the pathway and mysterious motley specks in the treetops. I think it looks very interesting!
  • The manner of painting is rather unusual: the artist applies thick, loose strokes that give the scene a bit illustrative, surreal look. And, suddenly, it makes the image even more alive than the most accurate photo!
  • And, of course, I’m charmed by the aura of this misty park – a bit enigmatic, intimate and cheerful despite the weather!

There are many pictures like that in Leonid Afremov’s collection. He runs his own site where he sells his creation – I must say, quite cheaply. So if you want to decorate your room with a cute piece of wall décor, you can always buy a beautiful painting on canvas online at Mr. Afremov’s store!

Leave a comment